Novels from Kate Khavari, Julie Clark and James Patterson to Elif Batuman's Either/Or and much more | Illustration by Holly Wiggins for The Market Herald

12 New Book Releases Coming in June

It’s little surprise that amid lockdowns and restrictions last year, many of us sought refuge in books. In fact, printed book sales increased by 18.5 per cent in the first half of 2021, and now that we’re well and truly into 2022, it seems our newfound, and old, love for books has prevailed.

As we head into winter in Australia, there’s simply nothing better than curling up on the couch with a good read in hand. Here are 12 upcoming book releases to look out for as we edge closer to peak reading season.

1. The Many Daughters of Afong Moy, Jamie Ford

Written by New York Times bestselling author, Jamie Ford, The Many Daughters of Afong Moy follows Dorothy Moy’s search for peace for her daughter, who she fears has inherited her mental health struggles. Exploring inherited trauma through the stories of Dorothy’s ancestors, this story of love, pain and healing is set to be released on August 2.

The Many Daughters of Afong Moy
Source: Simon & Schuster

2. James Patterson, James Patterson

The story of the most successful storyteller in the world, James Patterson’s memoir is one of the most highly-anticipated memoirs of 2022. To be published on June 6, Patterson’s memoir is what Hillary Rodham Clinton described as a “funny, poignant, and ultimately triumphant journey through his own life.”

James Patterson
Source: Penguin Random House

3. Horse, Geraldine Brooks

Pulitzer Prize winner, Geraldine Brooks, tells the story of an enslaved groom named Jarret and a bay foal who forge a bond that carries the horse to record-setting victories. Grappling with injustice, obsession, love and racism, this heartfelt novel is set to be released on June 14.

Horse
Source: GoodReads

4. The Lies I Tell, Julie Clark

A domestic thriller, The Lies I Tell follows two women; con artist Meg and one of Meg’s victims, Kat. Determined to expose Meg for what she really is, the two women grow closer. The third novel from Julie Clark is to be published on June 21.

The Lies I Tell
Source: GoodReads

5. Either/Or, Elif Batuman

From the bestselling author of The Idiot, Either/Or is a continuation of protagonist Selin’s quest for self-knowledge. Delving into the intensity of young adulthood, Either/Or is a revelatory and unforgettable narrative set to be released on May 24.

Either/Or
Source: Penguin Random House

6. A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons, Kate Khavari

Set in 1923 London, debut author Kate Khavari’s novel A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons follows a research assistant’s quest to clear her mentor’s name after he is named the main suspect of a suspicious murder. This murder mystery will be published on June 7.

A Botanist's Guide to Parties and Poison
Source: Penguin Random House

7. The House Across the Lake, Riley Sager

To be published on June 21, The House Across the Lake is another thriller from bestselling author Riley Sager. Following Casey Fletcher, a widowed actress who gets to know a glamorous couple living across from her family’s lake house, this novel is filled with plot twists.

Across the Lake
Source: Penguin Random House

8. On Rotation, Shirlene Obuobi

When Ghanian-American Angela Appiah’s perfect life starts breaking at the seams, she begins to question everything. Written for fans of Grey’s Anatomy, On Rotation is a romance novel that engages with love and life in your twenties and will be available from June 21.

On Rotation
Source: Hatchette Australia

9. These Impossible Things, Salma El-Wardany

The debut novel from Salma El-Wardany follows three best friends navigating love and faith under the watchful eyes of their parents and the weight of the expectations associated with being good Muslim women. These Impossible Things is expected on June 7.

These Impossible Things
Source: Goodreads

10. The 6:20 Man, David Baldacci

From the New York Times bestselling author, David Baldacci, The 6:20 Man surrounds a soldier turned financial analyst’s journey through the corruption and menace that lurk beneath the surface of the opulent world of finance. The mystery thriller is set to be published on July 12.

The 6:20 Man
Source: Grand Central Publishing

11. Iona Iverson’s Rules for Commuting, Clare Pooley

During the daily commute, Iona witnesses an incident that brings an eclectic group of people with almost nothing in common apart from their commute together. Iona Iverson’s Rules for Commuting is set to be released on June 7.

Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
Source: Penguin Random House

12. Lapvona, Ottessa Moshfegh

Set in a medieval village, Lapvona follows a motherless shepherd boy who finds himself the unlikely pivot of a power struggle that puts all manner of faith to a savage test. This thought-provoking novel is set to come out on June 21.

Lapvona
Source: Penguin Random House

Join The Rich List

Receive the beautifully curated selection of what's trending in luxury with inside stories and tips from our experts

You may also like

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This